connecting users of the CorelDRAW family of products

Huge File Sizes

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 2 verified answers | 28 Replies | 0 Followers

Page 2 of 2 (29 items) < Previous 1 2 | RSS

shadowinq posted on Mon, Mar 19 2012 15:17

I do beer signs for a living.  Sometimes I like to import other coreldraw files into my current work to take designs off of them, such as a curve or a portion of text.   I then delete the unused parts.   The problem is that whenever I do this, it makes the save file huge!  

You can test this.  Open an empty coreldraw file.  Drag a few .cdr's into it.  Delete everything you imported. Save the empty file.  It will be the size of all those .cdr's combined!

Is this a bug or something I can fix?

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

shadowinq:

This is a file with a big arial S in the middle of the page, nothing else.  Original file size 400KB.  I imported a large poster (60MB), then deleted it and saved it again.  The file is now 38.5MB, but is only just a big S in the middle of the page.  I uploaded the file to our distributor website since it's 38MB:  http://www.comerdistributing.com/files/bigS.zip  (I renamed the .cdr to .zip so that the webserver would serve it)

As advised before you should check View Manager & Graphic and Text styles - these adds about 400 kB to your file. Anyway your main "trouble" is wit symbols. Look at Symbol manager (CTRL+F3). Three symbols added to file (one of symbol is the bitmap 1815x900 mm at 150 dpi and it is why you are getting huge file size. When Views, Graphic & Text Styles and Symbols deleted then you get file with small size.

Mek

Top 50 Contributor
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Male
Verified by shadowinq

You could also drag this to your toolbar.

It takes the selected objects and creates a new document from them.

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Cave Creek, AZ
Male
TAG - Mediamarketplace (Foster)