Graphics card question

I will be purchasing a new computer within the next month and my question is for those of you who do graphics every day what graphics card are you using and why.

I would also be interested in what type of processor you are using and the speed.

I have a few thousand images that I have created so getting the right system is something I really want to put a great deal of thought into before I make a purchase.

I always dread doing this because I have to download new servers for my printers.

I am talking to a few different service tech guys now about getting their help when it time to make the change.

Last time a service tech told me that I should reformat my system it turned into a compete nightmare!

I will be purchasing another PC with a windows operating system.

The one I have been using for the past five years is just really outdated.

Just wondering what others professionals are using and why.

Thanks for any advice you might be able to offer.   Jimmy

Parents
No Data
  • Let me preface this comment with a link, that Foster posted recently, before I offer my opinion.

Read this as an introduction to what to plan for or to purchase then gather the various information to see what would suit your needs.

First off, build your own system or have a knowledged technician, someone you can trust, build it for you. You will get a very good system and it will be easily expandable and not overloaded with garbage or trial software.

For a video card/ or built in on the mother board, I would stay with either ATI's Raeon series or the NVidia series. In either case, I would not do less than a 512 VRam card (or able to dedicate 512 Meg of on board memory just for the video).