connecting users of the CorelDRAW family of products

Reverse Conversion of Text to Curves

This post has 7 Replies | 5 Followers

Page 1 of 1 (8 items) | RSS

Top 150 Contributor
Frisco, TX
Male
kumorigoe Posted: Mon, Jul 9 2007 8:27

I recently converted text to curves in an attempt to center them more accurately.  How do I convert them back so I can edit the text?

EDIT - I erased and retyped the text, in a bit of a hurry.  Though, if there is a way to unconvert, I would like to know.

Core 2 Q6600 ~ 4GB DDR2 ~ nVidia 8800 GT Superclocked ~ 150GB 10,000 RPM Hard Drive
Not Ranked
Alberta, Canada
Female

I'm 99% sure that Corel discards the font information once you convert to curves... I think the way you dealt with it is the only way. =]

Top 150 Contributor
Frisco, TX
Male

That's probably right =(

I'm still very new at this whole graphic design thing, but I'm learning fast.  Unfortunately, the person that I'm supposed to be learning from here isn't much of a teacher... which is why I ask here.

Core 2 Q6600 ~ 4GB DDR2 ~ nVidia 8800 GT Superclocked ~ 150GB 10,000 RPM Hard Drive
Not Ranked
Denver, Colorado
Male

I agree.  I believe that the only way to un-convert something is through our friend 'Control + Z'

One thing that I have done over the years if I'm not sure that something is going to work the way that I want, is to duplicate the object, move the duplicate over & then work with the duplicate.

Another nice thing about Corel 13 is that you can now place your text wherever you want through the 'x' 'y' coordinates at the top left of your toolbar.  Just make a little note on a scratch pad as to where the 'x' 'y' coordinates of the text are.  Convert them to curves or whatever, and then just enter the coordinates for the newly altered text.  Bada bing, bada boom.  :)