CorelCAD 2017 review.

Hi All,

Thinking of upgrading? Some useful thoughts may be here.

After having used CorelCAD 2017 for a few weeks, I have a fairly fluid feel for it now and thought I'd write up a brief review of it's strengths and weaknesses that I've noticed.

Firstly, I only do 3D non-commercial design work - it's mostly hobby stuff for me, so don't expect a draftpersons review here. I've been with CorelCAD since version 1 ( Just CorelCAD, prior to CorelCAD 2012 ) and this is my fourth version of CorelCAD. I think that pretty much makes me a native on this app. Also, I've spent a lot of time detailing bugs and problems with the app, and also spent time writing my own routines to work. I'm not a power user, but I'm not a novice either. This must be considered as the base from which I make my perspective. I'm also a CorelDRAW user since version 2. I've used PHOTOPAINT since version 5 ( I think... ) and I am a long time Corel Supporter and critic. 

That said, it's been 3 years since I updated my CorelCAD. Let's see what's happened in that time. 

The Good:

The look and feel are still much the same as CorelCAD 2014 and are familiar. 2D operations work the same, and some 2D issues are a little better. They've introduced one new 3D feature - Animation, which is like the original Gourad render in CorelCAD original - except in a new window, and you can specify what objects you want in there,  rather than having to save the objects to a new file then use 3D view.

It's a little ( as in VERY SLIGHT ) better in terms of dealing with a busy screen too, so, at a guess, will probably handle around 10% more objects before choking on it's own complexity. 

Also, Gourad shading is different - I'm not sure whether to put this in good or bad, but they have the ANIMATE rendering so it's probably fine that lines are always rendered in non-line mode now.