Unexplained Noise In Rendered Images

Hi Community,

I've been using Corel PHOTOPAINT for many, many years (CorelDRAW since 2.x) but have just upgraded from X8 to 2018 a few days ago. I do a great deal of photo editing.

My problem is that PHOTOPAINT 2018 appears to be rendering noise into images opened in that app. So far, it's happening with .jpg, .tif, .png and cr2 raws after import. I'm at a loss to fix it.

My monitors are well and truly calibrated, I have ICC profiles installed, I've set rendering intent to perceptual, but no matter what I do, I can't remove the rendered noise.

Here's two comparisons between PHOTOPAINT 2018 and Photoshop CC 2018 - but it could equally be Lightroom, Win10 Photos, or even Gimp.    

If someone could point me to the culprit settings, I'd be hugely grateful!

Parents
  • The bilinear interpolation when zoomed out being checked in my opinion won't help this much if at all.  That feature generally softens the image and is most effective a some specific zoom percentages depending on the display and resolution used. 

I do quite a bit of architectural image editing and use Photo-PAINT exclusively for final edits due to the crisp nature of the display.  What you're seeing is digital noise and if you're seeing it in Photo-PAINT then it really is there.  That's what I like about Photo-PAINT, you see it on the display and can check to see if it needs repair or if it's a viable issue before output.  Photo-PAINT has the most crisp display of any image editor I've ever used, PaintShop Pro 3 has a slightly better display crispness then Photoshop but not as good as Photo-PAINT, almost all RAW editors have less than acceptable display crispness in my opinion, Light Room, AfterShot Pro and Capture One included.