PDF save takes forever...even regular file save takes longer

I have noticed file saving time is taking longer and longer, but saving to a PDF file (which I do a lot!) is taking forever now!

A file that used to take about 6-10 seconds to save as a PDF, now takes between 60 and 120 seconds (1-2 minutes!)

The file is good, the save is good, its just been getting longer and longer to finish the save.

I recently repaired...and then reinstalled Corel...which didn't change things.
Today I removed and reinstalled Adobe Acrobat Pro 9 (which is what I use for PDFs) and that didn't fix things.
(Acrobat integrates itself, I guess, into Corel...after being installed, you "save to PDF" from within Corel as you work.)

I'm still using Windows 7, which I have been using with this version of Corel for the last 3-4 years.  This version of Corel is slow all over the place and dodesn't work nearly as well as 2017 Suite did, but I can't really go back now...so I need to make this work. Waiting upwards of 2 minutes to save a file is unacceptable.

Any ideas?

Parents
  • I did another Corel Repair process...with no luck.

And then...your comments (re issues with certain types of fills) made me think...
    and I looked at three recent similar projects, analyzing various bitmap and layered vector elements.

I'm constantly trying to combine elements in projects, helping to reduce file sizes and minimize conflicts.
    I'll combine multiple smaller bitmaps into one larger bitmap that has a smaller data size.
    If possible (visually) I will change multiple vector elements into a single raster element, again, to reduce data size.

Anyway, these three recent projects are all booklets with 11 pages, and similar contents.
    But two of them have a lot less bitmap components and less complicated pages...and they seem to save normally.
    I guess I ignored these files because I didnt have any problems with them.