My recent experience with Corel Graphics Suite 2017

First off, let me apologize upfront. I know there are some diehard Corel fans out there (I used to be one of them) and so nothing personal. This is just my recent experience after coming back to Corel after a few year away.

I’ve missed my buddy DRAW.  I had been using it for so many years I felt I could do almost anything with it, and I wanted my buddy back.

It had been about five years since I worked with CorelDraw. Illustrator has been a reliable piece of software and since online stock sites require eps files, using Illustrator made the most sense as I create a lot of stock images. But that monthly fee to Adobe was something I just did not feel good about.

I tried Affinity Designer and though it is great software, it’s still missing a few key features that I consider necessary for my drawing style. So, I thought “maybe Corel has made some progress and worked out some of the bugs since X6.” So, I created a new partition on my mac and installed Win 10 and CorelDraw Graphic Suite 2017, and set down to work.

It took less than an hour before the first crash. Wow, REALLY?! Fresh install, updated software, no customization to the interface? Not even virus protect other than Windows Defender. Are you kidding? Yup, nothing has changed since the last time I used it. Maybe a fluke? So, I kept going and…yup, another crash, then another, this time losing about a half hours of work. At some point, DRAW stopped saving but let me continue to work, proven by the outdated backup file.

Currently, I am working with Corel Tech Support to figure out why I have slow launch times, like over 4 minutes. I was told to reinstall/repair the application, delete temp files, reset Corel to defaults even though it was set to defaults, update to the latest version (it was), and here is the fun one...create a new Windows user account. Really!? I told them that this sounds like a workaround rather than a fix.