How Do I Extract Vector Outline From This Bitmap Image

I'd like to get the outline of this pattern as a vector and then resize to the size  I want. I've imported bitmap and tried 3 forms of tracing, not satisfactory. I'm a complete beginner with X5, this is the only task I want to use X5 for at the moment. I just want to get up to steam as quickly as possible and get this this done as soon as I can. I don't want to spend ages and ages going into X5.

I have, The Official Guide to CorelDraw X5, again I don't want to spend ages wading through it to find out just the bare bones of what I need to do,to do the task I wish to complete at the moment.

I had a look at YouTube on PowerTrace I saw one video,  How to extract the outline of a photo in Corel Draw  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BEOK9RwSqIQ

Here you will learn how to use Corel Photopaint Cut Out Lab and the bezier tool in Corel Draw to trace an image. " I'm familiar, a little with the bezier tool.

I'm wondering should I try this method? Or is there another more straightforward way to vecor the pattern I want?

I'd be really grateful for any tips etc to point me in the right direction to get this done.

Thanks.

Parents Reply
  • You are using hot keys, you mention the assigns.The others, did you use standard defaults, or assign your own, it might help bring my learning Corel up to speed if I knew the hot keys you used?

IFAIK I made custom ones, but they didn't conflict with internal defaults.

Does this mean I can get an accurate, sharper  cut using a vinyl cutter plotter with a stepper motor as I could get with a vinyl cutter that has a servo motor?

Having the best curves in Coreldraw is always the right thing to do. The output resolution and precision of output equipment can vary. Coreldraw can't solve inherent technical shortfalls with output equipment itself regarding curvature reproduction. Try some tests... or read the following for another person's insight that I'd gleaned from here.