Graphics Business?

Sorry if this isn't in the proper forum...

After 14 years of working on salary for the same company, I find myself now an independent contractor, still doing graphics for the same company, but now as my own boss.

So I find myself in the odd predicament of being a skilled graphic artist with no clue on the business end of it. And I need to get more clients.

I'm sure I need an online portfolio, which I could do... but can anyone share some ideas how to generate more business? I've been a hired graphic artist for 20 years and never had to go out and get clients. I don't even know where to begin. Door to door? Email? Bids online? Craigslist? It almost seems like too many options to the point that I don't know where to focus my attention.

I went to the library in search of books on the topic, and what I found was horrible outdated. And looking online, I'm seeing mostly varied and generic answers.

And by the way, yes I do all of my graphics using CorelDraw, which is why I am turning to this trusted community for a little guidance. :-)

Thanks in advance, and again, I apologize if this is posted in the wrong spot.

J.

Parents
  • Accroya said:
    So I find myself in the odd predicament of being a skilled graphic artist with no clue on the business end of it. And I need to get more clients.

CorelDRAW can be used for so many things, and that's the great thing about it. :-)

Tip #1 look around your community for garbage graphics. The more you find, the happier you should be.  Since... you have a reason to approach the people have have lousy business cards, web sites, menus, signs, brochures... etc.