CorelDRAW Upgrades are Ending!???????????????!!!!!!!!!!

Got an email to purchase 2019 upgrade and it's also stating upgrades are ending???  Is it going the dreaded "subscription" (rent, never own) model?!

After reading the many bugs and problems with 2019, very reluctant to move on to that one.  I'd hate to purchase that 2019 upgrade and they leave it to die and NEVER fix it, but force me to SUBSCRIPTION after they take my money.

CorelDRAW Upgrades are Ending!

Now is your last chance to upgrade to CorelDRAW Graphics Suite 2019. Later this year, upgrades will no longer be available.

Parents
No Data
  • I have been using CorelDRAW since 1990, nearly the entire time the product has existed. Back when the program was really primitive in the pre-Windows 3.1 days. CorelDRAW has weathered a lot since the late 1980's. But this new move, which is likely inspired by greedy vulture capital scumbags (current company owners Vector Capital and future owners KKR) is, I think, pretty much the beginning of the end for CorelDRAW.

Taking away the perpetual license upgrade program has to be one of the MOST STUPID decisions I've ever heard of in regards to graphics software distribution. It's sheer lunacy.

Bear this in mind, we all know about Adobe, Creative Cloud and their subscription-only thing. That's Adobe. They have a pseudo-monopoly on much of the graphic design software market. FWIW, the $54 per month you pay for that CC subscription delivers quite a lot. I would go broke many times over just paying for the commercial fonts made available thru Adobe Fonts and a CC subscription.