Using photoshop plugins on vector objects?

Hello, I'm new to corel draw. I watched some videos, and I really like it. Currently I'm using Xara Xtreme (now called Xara Designer), Fireworks, and Photoshop.

Now, what I miss from Xara and Fireworks, is how ps plugins behave when applied to vectors. There you could easily apply them to any vector object, and edit the vector later to get the effect you are looking for.

However, as I see, in Corel Draw you are not able to do that, since you can only apply them to bitmap objects. And not even that: there doesnt seem to be any empty canvas around those objects for plugins that create effects around the objects, such as Alien Skin fire effect for example.

Is there a workaround?? This is the only thing that stops me from buying and switching to Draw without second guessing myself. I realize it is a much more powerful tool then Xara and FW, but I really don't see how come Corel never made it possible to handle bitmap plugins like those apps do.

So is there anything that can be done about it? Thanks!

Parents
No Data
  • dv986 said:
    Now, what I miss from Xara and Fireworks, is how ps plugins behave when applied to vectors. There you could easily apply them to any vector object, and edit the vector later to get the effect you are looking for.

Currently this is not possible, I agree it would be nice to have "live" layer style effects in Draw. The closest thing is Draw's Bevel Effect, but it's simplistic.

dv986 said:
    However, as I see, in Corel Draw you are not able to do that, since you can only apply them to bitmap objects.

True.

dv986 said:
    And not even that: there doesn't seem to be any empty canvas around those objects for plugins that create effects around the objects, such as Alien Skin fire effect for example.